skip to Main Content

Who We Are

The California Sociological Association is composed of sociologists in a variety of settings – universities and colleges, government agencies, non-profits and private practitioners. We hold an annual conference in November of each year and alternate between the south and the north of the state. Our conference provides an opportunity for everyone including students to present their work and to talk informally with each other.

Mission Statement

The mission of CSA is to promote the scientific study of society among interested persons within the state of California; to stimulate discussion and encourage cooperative relations among people engaged in the scientific study of society; and to further the aims of instruction, practice and research in the field of sociology.

Goals

The goals of the CSA are to:

1. Promote the scientific study of society, with particular emphasis on the challenges facing the State of California.

2. Promote the dissemination of public policy-related sociological research.

3. Foster the early professional development of students.

4. Provide a forum for the professional involvement of practitioners and educators.

Officers

The Governing Council consists of the Executive Board and six Governors-at-Large. The Executive Board includes the President, immediate Past-President, President-Elect, Vice-President (North), Vice-President (South), Executive Director and the Newsletter Editor. The Governors-at-Large represent constituency groups: students, practitioners, community colleges, private colleges and universities, the California State University System, and the University of California.

California Sociological Association Council 2017-2018

President (2017-18)

Thea Alvarado

Sociology

Pasadena City College

tsweoalvarado@gmail.com

President Elect(2017-18)

Elvia Ramirez

Ethnic Studies

CSU Sacramento

eramirez@csus.edu

Vice President-South (2016-18)

Anne Marenco

Sociology

College of the Canyons

anne.marenco@canyons.edu

Vice President-South (2017-19)

Tonmar Johnson

Sociology

Solano College

tjohnson@solano.edu

Executive Director (2015-18)

Ed Nelson

Sociology

CSU, Fresno

ednelson@csufresno.edu

Webmaster

Tim Kubal

Sociology

CSU, Fresno

tkubal@csufresno.edu

Newsletter Editor

J. Vern Cromartie

Sociology

Contra Costa College

j_vern_cromartie@yahoo.com

California State University (2017-20)

David Boyns

Sociology

CSU Northridge

david.boyns@csun.edu

University of California (2017-20)

Christopher Chase-Dunn

Sociology

UC Riverside

christopher.chase-dunn@ucr.edu

Community Colleges North (2017-20)

Vern Cromartie

Sociology

Contra Costa College

j_vern_cromartie@yahoo.com

Community Colleges South (2016-19)

Rebekah Villafana

Sociology

Long Beach City College

rvillafana@lbcc.edu

Private College & Universities (2017-20)

Ed Clarke

Sociology

Vanguard University of Southern CA

eclarke@vanguard.edu

Practitioners(2015-18)

Robin Franck

Consultant

rfranck@san.rr.com

Students(2017-18)

Elizabeth Bogumil

Sociology

UC Riverside

elizabeth.bogumil@email.ucr.edu

Immediate Past President (2017-18)

Tim Kubal

Sociology

CSU Fresno

tkubal@csufresno.edu

Back To Top